Justaroundme's Blog

You are my favorite

Posted in Personal, Random by justaroundme on December 4, 2009

When I was about 4 or 5 years old,started to prefer the color “Pink”.Wanted a pink dress,only, for every other birthday.Everyone,around me were comfortable with my choice then and I was not judged.

In my mid-teens,I stopped being girlish.I just gave up pink and all I wanted was the color “Black” or any dull boring tint.I would use only black colored fountain pen,my school satchel was black and every other accessories.This madness about black would be in its peak, when I go for shopping to buy clothes and that continues even now.Whenever I am in my black shirt ,with my hair all tied up,I feel like a warrior,just ready to tackle this world..(Ok,bit of an exaggeration)I mean the confidence it gives me.At times,my abundance would displease others and then I am given this lecture about the real meaning of “Black”.

In Hindu religion,wearing “Black” on a festivity is still considered inauspicious as, “Black” is the symbol life and death according to Goddesses Kali and Durga.”Black” is also associated with secrecy,darkness and evil.

I am not able to comprehend all these cultural and religious symbolisms of “Black”.All I do is, dream about buying a “Black” color car in future ,a beautiful black silk saree/shalwar/cardigan and a cute little black puppy!.

How about you,do you share the same feeling like me for “Black” and how do you convince elderly women/men in the family who flag against your (this) favorite color.Others,who dislike/hate “Black”,would like to know your reasons too.

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Titaxy said, on December 5, 2009 at 12:11 pm

    i loveeeee black…always have…my mom used to say that it was easy when they went shopping for my dress because anything black would make me happy..it still does.. :D..

    and i don’t really recall elders making much fuss of it…i know it’s considered inauspicious and all, but no one really made a big deal in the family 😀

    • justaroundme said, on December 5, 2009 at 12:24 pm

      Thank you for stopping by..you do love black..nice to meet people with same interests…good that your family is not minding it..i have come across few families..where “black” is still a no-no and they do not buy anything in black…

  2. rads said, on December 7, 2009 at 9:10 pm

    True about ‘black’ still being not looked at kindly, but I love the color. I have way too many black saris 🙂

  3. Gauri Gharpure said, on December 9, 2009 at 1:36 am

    i also like black for i feel it somehow hides the bulk..:D but then, i don’t have too many black dresses now..
    i know the apprehensions with black at festive occasions, but a black silk saree, gorgeously embroidered by my chachi is a gift i got for diwali this year from my in-laws.. yay!

    • justaroundme said, on December 9, 2009 at 9:16 am

      wow black saree from in-laws – my sister herself does not like black ,but every time she gets me something in black she will say “this is the last time – no more black”

  4. The Print Lover said, on December 9, 2009 at 3:21 pm

    My fave color keeps changing. Right now I am in a ‘maroon’ phase.

    Black sarees are sexy!

    • justaroundme said, on December 9, 2009 at 3:47 pm

      Yes yes very sexy!and right, for some the fave color keeps changing according to their mood…that way one would be willing to try different colors…

  5. iniyaal said, on December 14, 2009 at 9:43 am

    White and black are my favourite colours 🙂 My mom goes mad trying to talk me out of white / black dresses for festivals… I cannot help it if white symbolises widows and black symbolises evil.

    • justaroundme said, on December 14, 2009 at 11:34 am

      Black and white excellent combination – yes we all love “black” in spite of its negative symbolism…welcome


Leave a Reply

