Justaroundme's Blog

On a cold winter night…

Posted in Random by justaroundme on December 21, 2009

Around 5:30 pm ,i was ready to leave office.It was dark outside and the sun was at its complete rest.As soon as i stepped out of office,the strong cold gusty wind entered my spine,chilling every part of the body.I ran hastily towards the car and after whole 7 mins ,I got on the road,looking at the clock for every 3 secs.Because I knew,exactly after 17 minutes ,i can switch on the heater inside the car and remove my armors against the cold weather.I blasted the heater and stretched my hand towards the vent to warm my fingers which were already numb.

After reaching home with no mood to cook ,I settled with the leftovers for dinner.No,the details about how many days old they were – will not be shared.Reheated and dumped myself on the couch to watch the endless re-runs of “King of Queens” and “Everybody loves Raymond“,which i always record for mindless laughs,anytime.As i had a morsel..it felt heavenly..it was the good old tomato R-A- S-A-M.
“Ha,just tamarind water and some spices”,i snorted, when first attempted to prepare rasam ,but as simple it sounds..i never got to hit the right concoction and taste.

The aroma of the spices that simply took over my mother’s kitchen at the boiling point of rasam, still lingers in my mind.In spite of she repeating the exact recipe over the phone for umpteen times and me referring to as many food blogs I can,never been able to replicate her touch.But on that chilly night,that rasam, it felt just OK,may be the CBR rasam powder did little trick.It was so much soothing to the soul.How ever, the taste also triggered the fond memories of childhood,the warmth of the loving mother and also it reminded me,how much i miss her…

So, what soothes you on a cold winter night and what does it remind you….

Note:Tips to improve my rasam will be accepted with great thanks!.

Tagged with:

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Titaxy said, on December 21, 2009 at 11:27 am

    ice cream does the magic for me 😛 on the coldest of days, i crave for ice cream

    ok then i wish you to get more snow on your way and so you get to enjoy more ice cream 😦 – will this make snow more tolerable

  2. G said, on December 21, 2009 at 10:27 pm

    Old photograph albums, songs playing on the radio/ipod and a hot cuppa coffee.. Sometimes hot chocolate also does the trick. 🙂

    hmm,Hot chocolate and music – perfect combination while reminiscing the cheer of past with bunch of old albums.

  3. Ishrath said, on December 27, 2009 at 9:00 pm

    Rasam is my family favorite. When in doubt – go rasam!

    Thanks for dropping by my blog. Hope you liked it. Cheers!

    Oh,your blog is very nice and will stop by often.

  4. iniyaal said, on December 27, 2009 at 10:58 pm

    rasam is my personal favorite for any cold season… maybe tomato rasam, instead of the good old tamarind rasam.

    Yes,tomato rasam is my all time favorite

  5. m2m said, on February 5, 2010 at 12:08 pm

    Delurked to give you a rasam tip since I am a self-proclaimed ‘rasam-queen’.

    Always make rasam in a low heat and allow it to boil. Add rasam powder when about to boil and turn stove off when the rasam tries to boil over.

    -m2m

    hello m2m welcome,
    Thank you very much for the tip and for delurking ..will try the same next time


Leave a Reply

