Justaroundme's Blog

Silence, very daunting

Posted in Random by justaroundme on July 29, 2010

My trips to India had always been only for 2 or 3 weeks,but this time I stayed little longer and savored every extra day I got to spend in my room,with my niece and with the family.And so it would take double the number of days (of actual stay in India) to come out of the “vacation mode” and the Indian-ness,I guess.Now that, I am settling in to the routine,something is nagging deep inside me,something that I am not able get it out of my mind.

I am no more hearing – the early morning Kandhar Shasti Kavasam* from the nearby temple,the milk man ringing his bicycle, the throbbing of the train-engine from the near by railway track,dogs barking noise at the sight of a squirrel, the garbage-pickup man who alerts his arrival by banging the truck as noisily as he could, the school auto rickshaw making a strong landing with continuous honking, which would even startle the adults and will make you run to the door to see if something is wrong  and then the kids chattering loud, screaming,yelling from the near by park….

After living amidst among these blaring noises and then I come here – the silence is what hits me first and only later I miss mom,dad and all others.Those daily clamors are kind of music to the ears.However,a late realization.

And Why, why is that I search for silence in a noisy world and noise/music in this part of (silent) world.Is there a place that strikes a balance between these 2 worlds or will this human soul be ever happy and content with the “present moment” ……… SIGH

Kandhar Shasti Kavasam : Is a spiritual music album,quite famous primarily among Lord Muruga devotees.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Titaxy said, on July 29, 2010 at 8:56 am

    Don’t know what to say…we always tend to want what we don’t have, I guess 😦 Hugs.

    • justaroundme said, on July 29, 2010 at 9:01 am

      Hey Titaxy..you are so quick in reading and commenting…

      Exactly, always we want something and after we achieve that we want something else or want what we had before…..

  2. BlueMist said, on July 29, 2010 at 9:37 am

    I know what you mean. When I look at the lovely , clean but empty roads here ; I miss those crowded roads with hawkers selling thousands of things.
    I guess we all want best of both the worlds. 🙂
    Please update frequently. I came here after longgg time.

    • justaroundme said, on August 4, 2010 at 10:00 am

      “best of both worlds” is what we crave for, right ? I feel it simply makes you more confused and greedy with this kind of exposure…seeing both the worlds and expecting one to be like other..which is bit not possible,i guess..


Leave a Reply

