Justaroundme's Blog

Movie Talk…

Posted in Experience by justaroundme on August 20, 2010

I have long-forgotten to see (Indian) movies also as an ART form.In recent years, movies targeting “the youth” have become stale,redundant and noisy.In the end, I would definitely have to swallow a headache pill.As I no more fall under the “youth” bracket,I have to do an extended search in different languages beyond my comfortable boundary to quench my thirst for a “GOOD” movie.

I like movies centered around the woman character and I like stories that projects the power and inner beauty of women in a subtle manner.I like movies with deep intense characters…

The particular Bengali movie that I watched called – “Shob Charitro Kalponik”, was a very refreshing treat.I simply chose to watch this without any expectations (that works great sometimes).And of course the poster of the movie showing the beautiful Bipasha Basu with a big bindi and an artistic motif on her eyebrows did lure me.

I have read and heard stories that explains the distance between a poet’s imaginary plane and the practical world.The director(Rituparno Gosh) has well pictured the (modern) life of a whimsical poet:his joy,his pride,his ecstasy,his success and his defeat.

Bipasa as Radhika, a contemporary wife of a poet : her insecurities,her love,her hate all perfectly penned and crafted.When she discovers about her husband’s contradicting other side,his love for her and his sensitivity through his poems, is a riveting and surreal journey to herself and to the viewers as well.
The best part of the story is that-it shows death as a beginning!.The cinematographer has done a great job by keeping every single frame in the movie very simple,sharp and clear.

The overall experience I had after watching this movie is ineffable.The soft,yet complex melancholic tune of the movie still lingers in my heart and would never want it to fade away.

I would simply put it straight – craving for a good Indian movie ?.Watch Shob Charitro Palkonik as (my) words would not do justice to this beautiful piece of ART.

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Titaxy said, on August 25, 2010 at 11:43 pm

    OIh I am very tempted to watch this now. Sounds very interesting, and definitely sounds like something I would enjoy. Will try to see it sometime.

  2. iniyaal said, on August 29, 2010 at 3:33 am

    The story line is interesting.. Thanks for writing about it… I will watch it sometime soon.

  3. […] Justaroundme on the Bengali film Shob Charitro Kalponik […]

  4. starsinmeyes said, on November 22, 2010 at 12:11 am

    I love it when Bipasha does deep roles…sounds like an awesome movie!!


Leave a Reply

