Justaroundme's Blog

September Blog Carnival: Say it with flowers na!

Posted in Personal by justaroundme on September 19, 2010

Iniyaal’s  Art,Beauty and Society is one of the blogs that I follow very regularly for her wonderful crafty posts.Also,one other important thing that attracts me to her blog is – I am guessing she is from, somewhere close to my native town. Pollachi ?..I love her “Country Side” posts for the kind of familiarity I share.So,when I came to know about The Key Bunch’sSeptember Blog Carnival: Say it with flowers na! event through her ,thought I will take it up. And “The Key Bunch” already added to my list of design blogs “to visit” very often!

I remember vividly the day we moved in to the house where my parents are living right now.The huge empty front yard with black soil became my mother’s playground for the next few years that followed.She would stop at every nursery she came across and wanted all kinds of plants and trees around her.Her green thumb was tested many times and that did not dither her in any way.Finally,she was successful in turning the empty yard in to a blossoming ground of variety of flowers and fruits.

But the sad part being after 18 years or so, with the expansion of the house and for all other reasons the big front yard has shrunk to a very little space.But this one little plant has resiliently survived all changes and time.It is the Pavalamalli plant (Night Flowering Jasmine).

Night Flowering Jasmine

I am emotionally connected to this plant,though I have never tended it.I feel it talks to me whenever I go near the plant.It says something to me through its strong pungent smell.

The flowers don’t wait for the sun,they blossom at the dusk and thus the name “Night-Flowering Jasmine”.The smell of the flowers is so strong that either one would hate it or love it…When I was in my school/college, on every Saturday morning, I remember collecting the flowers patiently one by one from the ground for making one big garland along with my grand mother.We both being the unsuspecting devotees at that time,would take the garland to the near by temple.It was more like a bonding time with my grand mother….

Fallen flowers on the ground

I am very much overwhelmed by the impact of “time”.I am noticing that, I have very little around me to remind my childhood and the care free days – all withering to become only part of my memory.As time induces constant change in our life we lose some and gain some.And I hope the fragrance of pavalamalli lingers for a long time…

Roses in the garden…

Fresh shenbagam and Pavalamalli

Tagged with: , ,

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. rekha said, on September 19, 2010 at 9:07 pm

    Thanks a bunch for those fragrant flowers! I love parijatas (as they call those white flowers in kannada) too. Thanks for the Spetember Blog Carnival entry..

  2. ~G said, on September 20, 2010 at 5:51 am

    lovely. I heart the parijatak flowers too. It is also called the night sorrow tree.

    • justaroundme said, on September 24, 2010 at 2:29 pm

      Yes..came to know about that name too..because it doesn’t get to see the sun ? I think there are also some Hindu myths associated with this tree …

  3. iniyaal said, on September 20, 2010 at 10:19 am

    pavalamalli šŸ™‚ We had them in our previous home. Brings back lovely memories! They look so lovely together with the shenbagam flowers.
    Thanks for the mention… I am from coimbatore and hoping to move closer to Pollachi very soon šŸ™‚

    • justaroundme said, on September 24, 2010 at 2:31 pm

      Ha ha me too from CBE..next time we should meet…Thank you very much …

  4. Titaxy said, on September 24, 2010 at 2:06 pm

    i love the fragrance of the that flower. it’s been years though, since i’ve seen one of them. lovely post.

    • justaroundme said, on September 24, 2010 at 2:35 pm

      Thank you…oh yes at night time when the wind carries the fragrance to you ..i simply love that moment…

  5. Dew said, on December 4, 2010 at 12:14 am

    These are one of my favorites besides rajnigandha, jasmine and champa fowers šŸ™‚ the fragrance is simply magical šŸ™‚

    • justaroundme said, on December 4, 2010 at 4:27 pm

      Yes, the fragrance is wonderful…thank you for stopping by and I am off to google about rajinigandha !

      • Dew said, on December 4, 2010 at 11:33 pm

        Its the tuberose … šŸ™‚ with long green stems… I hope you were able to find the details…

  6. Indian Homemaker said, on December 6, 2010 at 5:47 am

    Beautiful photographs… I love this flower too!


Leave a Reply

