Justaroundme's Blog

Staying warm…

Posted in Music by justaroundme on February 2, 2011

When ice rain is pouring outside what are the options to stay warm and cozy – hot chocolate, hot chai,spicy pepper rasam ? what works for you..? whatever it is,I am sure music would be in the background.Allowing a pauper to enter a palace,I get the same feeling as the pauper would and I blast in joy when I hear a Carnatic singer singing a movie song but still retaining the authentic nature of their voice, for me it is like the singer coming down from their high level of music knowledge and allowing a layman inside their world to explore and revel.

Enna Kuraiyo” song from the movie Mandhira Punnagai is in loops for the past few weeks.Lovely lyrics and the deep voice of Sudha Ragunathan singing …

“Ner kodu vattam aagalam
Nizhal kooda vittu pogalaam
Thaalatha thunbam Nergayil
Thaayaga Kannan maaruvan”

– these words soothes the muddled mind and I feel like screaming "all is well"…

Another song – by Sowmya ,quite mesmerizing.Her voice gets into like a silent stream backed with very good music.

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. BlueMist said, on February 2, 2011 at 11:47 pm

    My exact idea of enjoying rain. ( Staying indoors, nibbling something hot and songs to sing/listen) I am no fan of rain it makes me depressed. Give me sunshine and I am so happy πŸ™‚
    P.S. Glad to have you back πŸ™‚ Hope you are doing great !

    • justaroundme said, on February 6, 2011 at 10:05 am

      Misty…doing good…how are you? but but why your blog is protected…

  2. Scribby said, on February 2, 2011 at 11:56 pm

    I think I’ll opt for hot chocolate,a lovely book and all this in a cosy blanket πŸ˜‰

  3. iniyaal said, on February 6, 2011 at 1:05 am

    Lovely song. It is always nice to have a good classical/carnatic song in movies. Though I have heard the enna kuraiyo song before, did not pay much attention to the lyrics till you pointed it out. Fitting composition for the passionate lyrics.

    • justaroundme said, on February 6, 2011 at 10:02 am

      Lovely lyrics ..isn’t ?So..what is your favorite song ?

      • iniyaal said, on April 3, 2011 at 12:37 am

        πŸ™‚ I have a whole list of favourites ranging from old MSV hits. But I love “kandanaal muthal”… it is one of my all time favs.

  4. Destination Infinity said, on February 16, 2011 at 10:25 pm

    I can stand any amount of heat – being born and brought up in chennai has prepared me for that, but can’t handle cold or even a cool breeze for a long time. ‘Enna Kurayo’ is a very nice song, for the music and the voice – I rarely follow lyrics. But the other one was not that good…

    Destination Infinity

  5. BlueMist said, on March 5, 2011 at 12:37 pm

    hello long time no updates ??

    • justaroundme said, on March 17, 2011 at 11:53 am

      Misty, the winter has pushed me into a deep slumber mood…expecting to get better soon…


Leave a Reply

